corps cirp

 

CIRP Technology-Transfer Workshop
May 17, 20-21, 2010


U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, New Orleans District
7400 Leake Avenue
New Orleans, LA 70118

The USACE New Orleans District (MVN) hosted the CIRP's 12th Annual Technology Transfer Workshop (and 34th workshop overall) on May 17th (Beginner's Day) and May 20-21st (Main Hands-On Workshop).  The workshop featured two CIRP products, the Coastal Modeling System (CMS) and the recently released Channel Portfolio Tool (CPT). 

Presentations from engineers at the Jacksonville and New England USACE District offices highlighted applications of the CMS to regional coastal navigation projects.  Nineteen attendees participated in the SMS-CMS Beginner Day on May 17th.  Forty-one participated in the hands-on workshop during May 20-21, with representation from 13 USACE District and Division offices, seven consulting engineering firms, NOAA, Louisiana Office of Coastal Restoration and Protection, and five universities. Special guests were Jim Walker, USACE Headquarters Navigation Business Line Manager, and Jeff Lillycrop, Technical Director for Navigation. Attendees provided feedback and new ideas for the recently-updated CIRP wiki (http://cirpwiki.info/wiki/Main_Page). 

Thank you to New Orleans District for hosting us, and to all our attendees and speakers!

Our next technology-transfer workshop is scheduled for February 7-9, 2011, in conjunction with the Florida Shore and Beach Preservation Association’s (FSBPA) conference at the Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront in Jacksonville, Florida (see http://www.fsbpa.com/conferences.html). Watch the CIRP website for details as they become available and to register for this workshop.

Laissez les Bon Temps Roulez !
Julie
Julie Rosati and CIRP PIs

Julie D. Rosati, PhD (Julie.D.Rosati@usace.army.mil)
ERDC, Coastal & Hydraulics Laboratory
(202)-761-1850
http://cirp.usace.army.mil/

Agendas:
Workshop agendas (with links to presentations) are located below:
Beginner Workshop - 17 May 2010
CMS/CPT Workshop - 20-21 May 2010

Files:
Files for the Hands-on portion of the workshops can be accessed below.
Hands-on Material - Humboldt, CA [~22.2 MB]
Hands-on Material - Shark River Inlet, NJ [~1.0 GB]
Utilities and other executables [~ 2.3 MB]

List of Attendees
Name Affiliation Email Address Beginner Workshop Full Workshop
Bill Martin USACE - ERDC CHL william.d.martin@usace.army.mil Not Registered Registered
Shannon Chader USACE - LRB shanon.chader@usace.army.mil Not Registered Registered
Michael Mohr USACE - LRB michael.c.mohr@usace.army.mil Not Registered Registered
Colleen O'Connell USACE - LRB colleen.m.o'connell@usace.army.mil Not Registered Registered
Gregory Mausolf USACE - LRE gregory.m.mausolf@usace.army.mil Not Registered Registered
Patrick O'Brien USACE - MVD patrick.s.obrien@usace.army.mil Registered Registered
Steven Ayres USACE - MVN steven.k.ayres@usace.army.mil Not Registered Registered
Boone Larson USACE - MVN boone.f.larson@usace.army.mil Registered Registered
Irene Watts USACE - NAE irene.watts@usace.army.mil Registered Registered
John Winkelman USACE - NAE john.h.winkelman@usace.army.mil Not Registered Registered
Frank Buonaiuto USACE - NAN fsbuonaiuto@optonline.net Not Registered Registered
Peter Kuglstatter USACE - NAN peter.kuglstatter@usace.army.mil Not Registered Registered
Harry Friebel USACE - NAP harry.c.friebel@usace.army.mil Not Registered Registered
Scott Brown USACE - NWS scott.h.brown@usace.army.mil Not Registered Registered
Mary Azelton USACE - POA mary.t.azelton@usace.army.mil Registered Registered
Kaiser Edmond USACE - SAD kaiser.e.edmond@usace.army.mil Registered Not Registered
Steve Bratos USACE - SAJ Steven.M.Bratos@usace.army.mil Not Registered Registered
Stephanie Groleau USACE - SAJ stephanie.groleau@usace.army.mil Registered Registered
Kelly Legault USACE - SAJ kelly.r.legault@usace.army.mil Not Registered Registered
Charlene Sylvester USACE - SAM charlene.m.sullivan@usace.army.mil Registered Registered
Lisa Andes USACE - SPN lisa.c.andes@usace.army.mil Registered Registered
Anne Sturm USACE - SPN anne.k.sturm@usace.army.mil Registered Registered
Sean Kelley Applied Coastal skelley@appliedcoastal.com Not Registered Registered
Trey Ruthven Applied Coastal hruthven@appliedcoastal.com Not Registered Registered
Grant Lamont Ausenco Sandwell glamont@sandwell.com Not Registered Registered
James Martin GEC, Inc. jmartin@gecinc.com Registered Registered
Kristin DeMarco Louisiana OCPR kristin.demarco@la.gov Registered Registered
Robert Hampson Moffatt & Nichol rhampson@moffattnichol.com Not Registered Registered
Elisa Chae NOAA elisa.chae@noaa.gov Registered Registered
Nicole Walker PBS & J nswalker@pbsj.com Registered Registered
Barry Kennedy T. Baker Smith jason.kennedy@tbsmith.com Registered Registered
Richard Seymour Scripps Institution rseymour@ucsd.edu Not Registered Registered
Sara Davis URS, Corp. sara_davis@URSCorp.com Not Registered Registered
Jose Medina Eu. University of Madrid josemmedina@nautilusing.com Registered Registered
Chatchawin Srisuwan Georgia Tech chatchawin.srisuwan@gatech.edu Not Registered Registered
Paul Work Georgia Tech paul.work@gatech.edu Not Registered Registered
Felix Jose Louisiana State University felixjose@lsu.edu Not Registered Registered
Glenn Ledet Louisiana State University gledet2@tigers.lsu.edu Registered Registered
Mallory Davis University of New Orleans madavis3@uno.edu Not Registered Registered
Alicia Mahon Stevens Center for Maritime Systems amahon@stevens.edu Registered Registered
Jennifer Schindler University of New Orleans jkschind@uno.edu Registered Registered
Katie Brutsché University of South Florida kebrutsche@mail.usf.edu Registered Registered
    Total 19 41

 

List of Presenters

Tanya Beck, ERDC

Tanya.M.Beck@usace.army.mil

601-634-2603

Steve Bratos, SAJ

Steven.M.Bratos@usace.army.mil

904-232-1824

Mitchell Brown, ERDC

Mitchell.E.Brown@usace.army.mil

601-634-4036

Ashley Frey, ERDC

Ashley.E.Frey@usace.army.mil

601-634-2006

Nick Kraus, ERDC

Nicholas.C.Kraus@usace.army.mil

601-634-2016

Kelly Legault, SAJ

Kelly.R.Legault@usace.army.mil

904-232-1861

Honghai Li, ERDC

Honghai.Li@usace.army.mil

601-634-2840

Jeff Lillycrop, ERDC

Jeff.Lillycrop@usace.army.mil

251-895-1882

Lihwa Lin, ERDC

Lihwa.Lin@usace.army.mil

601-634-2704

Ned Mitchell, ERDC

Kenneth.N.Mitchell@usace.army.mil

601-634-2022

Jay Rosati, ERDC

James.Rosati@usace.army.mil

251-441-5535

Julie Rosati, ERDC

Julie.D.Rosati@usace.army.mil

(202)-761-1850

Alex Sanchez, ERDC

Alejandro.Sanchez@usace.army.mil

601-634-2027

Jim Walker, HQ

James.E.Walker@usace.army.mil

-----

Irene Watts, NAE

Irene.Watts@usace.army.mil

978-318-8356

Group Photo