corpscirp

CIRP Technology-Transfer Workshop
1-3 December, 2009
Seattle District Offices, US Army Corps of Engineers
Seattle, WA

“Integrated Coastal Inlet Simulation with Applications”

CIRP Technology-Transfer Workshop
December 1-3, 2009

Seattle District Offices - Fairmont Room
4735 East Marginal Way South
Seattle, Washington 98134

December 1, 2009 - Day 1

8:00 – 8:15 am

Registration

8:15 – 8:30

Welcome to the Seattle District – COL Anthony Wright, Commander, USACE, Seattle District

8:30 – 9:00

Navigation Channels and Coastal Inlets: HQ Perspective - Jim Walker and Jeff Lillycrop

9:00 – 9:15

Welcome to Workshop, Overview and Goals - Julie Rosati

9:15 – 9:45

Channel Prioritization Tool (CPT) - Ashley Frey

9:45 – 10:10

Channel Infilling: Overview and Observations from Surveys - Julie Rosati

10:10 – 10:30

Break

10:30 – 11:00

Grays Harbor, WA, Navigation Project - Seattle District (Hiram Arden and David Michalsen)

11:00– 11:30

California Harbors: Where Does the Sand Go? - San Francisco District (James Zoulas)

11:30 – 12:00

Maintaining Coastal Inlets and Navigation Infrastructure - Portland District (Rod Moritz)

12:00 – 1:00 pm

Lunch

1:00 – 1:30

Anchorage Navigation Project, AK - Alaska District (Wendy Shaw)

1:30 – 2:00

Hawaii Navigation Projects, HI - Honolulu District (Justin Goo)

2:00 – 2:30

Break

2:30 – 2:45

What’s Special about the Coastal Modeling System? - Julie Rosati

2:45 – 3:30

CMS-Flow: Background and Capabilities - Alex Sanchez

3:30 – 4:15

CMS-Wave: Background and Capabilities - Lihwa Lin

4:15 – 5:00

Overview of the SMS interface and New CIRP Additions: CIRP Wiki and CMS Discussion List – Mitch Brown

5:00

Adjourn for Day


December 2, 2009 - Day 2

8:00 – 8:30 am

CMS Sediment Transport and Morphology Change Capabilities - Alex Sanchez  

8:30 – 9:00

Channel Infilling: Calculations with the CMS - Tanya Beck

9:00 – 9:30

Introduction to Particle Tracking Model (PTM) in the CMS; Residence time in a beneficial uses wetland cell - Honghai Li

9:30 – 10:00

Break

10:00 – 10:30

Ebb Shoal Development at a “New” Old Inlet, Shark River Inlet, NJ - Tanya Beck

10:30 – 11:00

CMS Application to Grays Harbor, WA; Calculation of Storm Processes for a Navigation Project - Lihwa Lin

11:00 – 11:30

CMS Application to Grays Harbor, WA, Morphology Change - Alex Sanchez

11:30 – 12:00

Discussion

12:00 – 1:00

Lunch

1:00 – 5:00

 

 

(Break informal)

Hands-On Practice – (Humboldt Bay, CA Example)
a.  Grid generation and Preconditioning
b.  CMS-Flow setup

  1. hydrodynamics
  2. sediment transport/morphology change
  3. salinity 

c.  CMS-Wave setup

  1. grid  transformation
  2. input spectra
  3. model parameters
  4. runup and overtopping
  5. structure types

d.  Calculating channel infilling
e.  Calculating sediment transport paths and sediment budgets with CMS
f.  Breaching and morphology change near jetties
CIRP Team

5:00

Adjourn for Day


December 3, 2009 - Day 3

8:00 – 12:00

Self-Paced Guided Practice Example 1 – Shark River Inlet, NJ - Tanya Beck

12:00 – 1:00

Lunch

1:00 – 4:00

Self-Paced Guided Practice Example 2 – Grays Harbor, WA - Alex Sanchez

4:00 – 4:30

Upcoming Features in the CMS and Field Needs - Julie Rosati

4:30 – 5:00

Feedback / Venue for Next Workshop

5:00

Adjourn Workshop


Presenters

Hiram Arden, NWS

Hiram.T.Arden@usace.army.mil

206-764-3401

Tanya Beck, ERDC

Tanya.M.Beck@usace.army.mil

601-634-2603

Mitchell Brown, ERDC

Mitchell.E.Brown@usace.army.mil

601-634-4036

Ashley Frey, ERDC

Ashley.E.Frey@usace.army.mil

601-634-2022

Justin Goo, POH

Justin.A.Goo@usace.army.mil

808-438-1648

Nick Kraus, ERDC

Nicholas.C.Kraus@usace.army.mil

601-634-2016

Honghai Li, ERDC

Honghai.Li@usace.army.mil

601-634-2840

Jeff Lillycrop, ERDC

Jeff.Lillycrop@usace.army.mil

251-895-1882

Lihwa Lin, ERDC

Lihwa.Lin@usace.army.mil

601-634-2704

David Michalsen, NWS

David.R.Michalsen@usace.army.mil

206-764-3705

Rod Moritz, NWP

Hans.R.Moritz@usace.army.mil

503-808-4864

Julie Rosati, ERDC

Julie.D.Rosati@usace.army.mil

(202)-761-1850

Alex Sanchez, ERDC

Alejandro.Sanchez@usace.army.mil

601-634-2027

Wendy Shaw, POA

Wendy.L.Shaw@usace.army.mil

907-753-5798

Jim Walker, HQ

James.E.Walker@usace.army.mil

-----

James Zoulas, SPN

James.G.Zoulas@usace.army.mil

415-503-6923